Questions about new Apps / Setup

First of all, Hi everyone! :wave:

I’m new to umbrel (started with version 0.4.6 or smth…) but still quite a rookie :children_crossing: with Bitcoin, Lightning Channels and Wallets.
Like most of you, I was very excited about the new update to version 0.5.0. :partying_face:

But this is where it gets… confusing.
After the update suddenly I have the feeling there is like 2-3 Apps for one and the same purposes.

Would someone care to explain, what the individual differences between (or even better: use cases of) the following apps are?

Bitcoin Core :left_right_arrow: Core Lightning :left_right_arrow: Electrs :left_right_arrow: Lightning Node :left_right_arrow: Elements Core

I see a pattern with
Ride The Lightning (Core Lightning) :left_right_arrow: Ride The Lightning
but the other stuff doesn’t make much sense.

Bonus Question:

What would be the minimal viable setup to have a stable node with Bitcoin Lightning capabilities (only for myself, nothing fancy) without a huge RAM footprint (only have 2GB :roll_eyes:)?

Thanks in advance!

My understanding and may not be 100% accurate but I’m sure I will be corrected:

Bitcoin Node = Bitcoin core ----- syncs with the layer 1 blockchain and is what everything else is based from - required.

Electrs - electrum server, I think of this as curating the blockchain and provides a server for wallets and apps to access layer 1 blockchain information - not needed if not connecting external wallet?

Core Lightning and Lightning node - same thing but different implementations - Elements and LND respectively. You would only need one of these to access lightning network and create channels etc.

Elements core - not needed. This is for the liquid network - I’ve never really touched this.

----------Bonus-----------

I would have Bitcoin + Lightning node only installed.
Then manage lightning with lndcli via ssh so as not to bother with a management app like RTL, thunderhub or LNDg.

3 Likes

@Sinbad