Bitcoin Solo Mining Pool Umbrel App

Hey Guys -

Sooooo, I believe the ethos of Bitcoiners leads us to believe in decentralization as a first principle of Bitcoin. Umbrel is a tool for Bitcoiners to contribute in many ways to that principle - and as such, I’d like to work with a few people on setting up an Umbrel app to create a solo mining pool that each Umbrel node runner could run and point solo hash at to help in this endeavor. It’d make use of the already-created Bitcoin node app, so most people could just install the Pool app and point their NerdMiner or Apollo, or what have you, at your own pool and watch the hashing fun.

I’m a veteran sysadmin by trade, and can either help with the systems development or fund the development of such a package. If anyone here has a contribution that they can make to this effort, I’d like to hear from you either via DM or as a response to this post.

8 Likes

Wow, I very much like your idea. Mining centralization should be addressed everytime.

3 Likes

always been curious about this myself too.

I believe the best software to port to Umbrel would be ckpool or cgminer
https://bitbucket.org/ckolivas/ckpool-solo/src/solobtc/
https://cgminer.info/ (i believe most bitaxe ppl use cgminer)

both of these seem to have maintained docker images, so maybe it wouldn’t be too hard?

this is the two frameworks for adding an app to umbrel:
Adding apps to the main appstore- GitHub - getumbrel/umbrel-apps: The official app repository of the Umbrel App Store. Submit apps and updates here. Learn how → https://github.com/getumbrel/umbrel-apps#readme
Community app-store framework- GitHub - getumbrel/umbrel-community-app-store: Template repository for a creating your own Community App Store for Umbrel. Click "Use this template" and add your apps!

im too busy for the next couple weeks, but id also love to get a nerdminer/bitaxe and then try port this to Umbrel

2 Likes

Cool idea, well, why we don’t have it yet …

1 Like